• Before 2011, the year when all health science faculties and programs were gathered under the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, and since 2006, the department was run as the office of deputy Dean of (Faculty of Medicine) for biomedical sciences.
  • From 1999 (when Faculty of Medicine was established at ANNU) till 2006 (when clinical stage was run independently by the faculty at ANNU) the work of Faculty of Medicine was merely concerned with basic biomedical sciences.
  • In 2011 it was established as the Department of Biomedical sciences.
  • Two main health programs are now offered by the department, namely: Bachelor of Biomedical Sciences and Bachelor of Health Information Management.
  • Before the academic year 2020/2021, our department was also running the programs of Optometry, "Biophysics and Medical Imaging", and Medical Laboratory Sciences, which by that year were transferred to the newly established department of "Applied and Allied Medical Sciences".
  • On the other hand, this department offers all biomedical sciences courses necessary for all other health programs in the Faculty of Medicine and Helath sciences, hence hosting most Faculty courses and huge human power.
  1. Microbiology, Immunology and Pathology.
  2. Anatomy, Biochemistry and Genetics.
  3. Physiology, Pharmacology, and Toxicology.
  4. Public Health.

Successive Directors

(August) 2022 -Now

Mohammad Qadi

Director of Biomedical Sciences Department



  • 2021 2022

    Dr. Mustafa Ghanim

  • 2020 2021

    Dr. Abdulsalam khayyat

  • 2015 2020

    Dr. Bilal Rahal

  • 2013 2015

    Dr. Walid Basha

  • 2011 2013

    Dr. Rami Zagha